How to be a Wanderlust

I tend to hear similar responses from people when I tell them about my travelling:

“Wow! You’re so lucky!”

“I wish I could do that!”

“You’re really living the dream life!”

giphy

 

You… you realize this can be you… right?

I don’t have these opportunities to travel and work around the world just land in my lap. Luck has NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS. I work hard and I do my research to figure out the most economically friendly ways for me to travel. I work hard to afford flights and travel necessities. I work hard so I can spend my life doing what I love.

“It’s not that easy.”

“No one has that kind of time.”

“Who’s got the money for all of that?”

You don’t understand: it really is as simple as making the decision to go somewhere and figuring out how to do it.

c86bf3c97cab27ee6d3e58b0c89d0efd

Sure, it’s going to be time-consuming, so you need to learn how to plan ahead. Me? I have my next several trips planned at least vaguely so I know not to make any long-term commitments I know I can’t keep, such as getting a full-time job.

Another thing people never seem to consider is the fact that people CAN work from different destinations. Look for job openings in Moscow or Rio or Zurich if North America just isn’t doing it for you. Look for volunteer opportunities in sunny, tropical climates. Look for mountain climbing lessons in the Himalayas. JUST TRY!

As for the money…

Okay, I get it. Most people can’t just drop everything and go on a $2,000 flight to Australia, but that’s why planning ahead is so important. I saved up for two years in order to afford my Thailand volunteer trip, winning $1,500 worth of bursaries and scholarships as well as holding down two different jobs and selling crafts to help raise the money I needed. YOU’RE GOING TO HAVE TO COMMIT AND WORK AT IT.

That being said, don’t you dare bitch and complain to me that you can’t go even though you “so very much want to go, oh golly”.

Stop it.

If you really wanted to go, you would find a way.

11950470_1132398276789652_544739652_n(1).jpg

 

Leave a Reply

