Glass Figurines

I can’t help myself
from turning into fragile glass,
making myself vulnerable
to passing strangers
because I crave
transparency;
“Look at me!
Look inside me!
See who I really am”.

But glass was
never a strong material,
and after years of
erosion and chipped shoulders,
I finally discovered
what it takes
to make me
shatter.

I’m still picking up the pieces,
trying to find ways
to put myself together again,
but I always seem
to come out looking like
a Picasso rather than
a Monet.
I’m still trying to find
the person I used to be
among the rubble.

Leave a Reply

