Why I’m Scared to Admit I’m Christian

I’m Christian. I celebrate Christmas and Easter, I pray, I’ve gone to church. I fully support gay rights/ marriage, I’m pro-choice and I’ve never believed in Heaven.

But because of people like this jerk (http://nycpastor.com/2014/12/29/10-women-christian-men-should-not-marry/) my religion has a terrible stigma of close-mindedness and ignorance attached to it.

I hate the fact that un-acceptance has become synonymous with Christianity, but unfortunately many Christians are less open-minded about current issues than I am. I support your rights to complain about abortion or whatever, but I don’t agree.

In the above article, the author has stated that women who are feminists (AKA anyone who wants equality) should not be married by Christian men because “Any woman who tries to usurp her husband’s authority or even claims to be a co-leader with her man is gravely dishonouring the God who created her to be subject and obedient to her husband (Eph 5:22, Col 3:18, 1 Pet 3:1)”.

Furthermore, because I want to spend my life travelling (AKA be a “wanderlust” according to this article), I’m also not suitable for marriage.

This is bullshit.

I’m angry at articles like these for being so incredibly backwards. Women and men are equal (and no, before anyone asks I don’t believe the Bible’s rendition of Creationism. Sorry about proof) and if I want to travel the world then I should be able to do so, hopefully with a family one day.

If THIS is what Christian men are being told to marry, please God let me fall in love with a Muslim or a Jew or ANYONE ELSE. If I can’t be who I am and be accepted by my own religion, there’s a problem here.

No other religion has had this much negative backlash (with the exception of a few places in the Middle East where our Western thought process tries to tell women they shouldn’t cover their faces because it’s “repression” when it may just be religion).

To summarize, this is why I’m so afraid when i tell people I’m Christian: it has become the norm to hate us and deem us as un-accepting bigots. Some Christians are, and they use religion as an excuse as to why women are sooooo inferior to men (bullshit) when really, it’s just their own stupid personalities. Not all of us are like this.

I talk about the Duggars a lot on this blog (from the show 19 Kids and Counting) because I used to have a lot of respect for them for being one of the first openly Christian families on mainstream television in this era of religion-bashing. That was before I started looking into some of their real principles and realized that Michelle Duggar has been quoted as saying transgender people shouldn’t have civil rights. That was before I realized they preach hate and call women who get abortions “murderers”. That was before I realized they mask their intolerance behind religion, and I’m not okay with that.

I’m not like those people. I will respect you if you chose to protest abortions (not so much gay rights because I honestly believe you guys have GOT to get with the picture; let people love whoever they want). I will not respect you if you are just another reason why I’m ashamed to call myself Christian.

Leave a Reply

