Song Poem

I’m trying something totally new here: I’m going to put my iPod (phone) on shuffle and I’m going to see what song comes up. From that song, I’m going to take ONE LINE and use it in my poem, in the same order the song comes up in. Doesn’t matter the song, I have to use it. I’m excited!

Well, it’s a sad picture;
I call that getting tricked by a business.
We didn’t come for money,
Small talk, big thoughts,
Put your faith in what you most believe in.
I lay in tears in bed all night,
And in a pipe I fly to the motherland,
Everything that day had gone all wrong, been trampled on.
Everybody said, “You better stay in school”.
There’s a place downtown,
There was a shot in the dark,
It’s quite clear when you see the instant replay.
Please excuse me,
Do it all again,
Summer of ’45,
Tonight, you won’t need your wings to fly.
Dear, it took so long just to feel alright,
In a time when everything was free and the whole damn world revolved around me.
All is calm;
Let’s lock all the doors,
Blue-eyed summertime smile looks so good that it hurts.
You should know me as well;
Why’d you have to go and turn to ice?
All this stress, I must confess,
We wrote a prelude to our own fairytale,
I thought that I was free;
You broke me like a promise.

Songs Used:
Change – Taylor Swift
Thrift Shop – Macklemore
Royals – Lorde
Don’t Stop – Foster the People
Two Worlds – Phil Collins
All I Want – Kodaline
A Team – Ed Sheeran
Our Song – Taylor Swift
Anything – Hedley
Take It Off – Ke$ha
Take it All Away – Owl City
3 Way – Lonely Island ft. Lady Gaga
Tonight – Enrique Iglesias
Last Friday Night – Katy Perry
Starlight – Taylor Swift
Heaven’s Gonna Wait for You – Hedley
Jar of Hearts – Christina Perri
Can’t Go Back – Hedley
Silent night – Taylor Swift
Party for Two – Shania Twain
Dirt – Florida Georgia Line
By Now – Marianas Trench
Ice – Lights
Honey I’m Home – Shania Twain
Hot Air Balloon – Owl City
Bullet for Your Dreams – Hedley
All Too Well – Taylor Swift

Leave a Reply

