The Book

I’m surprised you can’t read my mind
Like a paperback novel,
Like a passing billboard,
Like a love letter;
It has always seemed so simple to me.

Maybe I am not such an open book
Or maybe I am one with subliminal messages
Caressing my pages and smothering my words.
Maybe I am hidden thoughts
And difficult secrets.

You can read my pages for a laugh,
A cry,
A story,
But beware: the ending is unknown
And possibly, tragic.

When thoughts flash across my mind
I’m surprised you can’t read them in my eyes,
In the way I turn away,
In the way I entwine my fingers in my hair,
In the way my breath catches.

I’m surprised you can’t read my mind
Like a love letter,
Like the one I wrote you a million times in my head
But never with a pen.

Leave a Reply

