Sneak Peak at my Novel #2

[Since I got such a great reaction from posting the beginning, here is a little part in the middle of my book that I pulled for you guys. Enjoy!]

I pulled over and parked before getting out and looking around. As far as I could tell, we were literally in the middle of nowhere.

We had pulled over on a small dirt road (that I doubted had seen a car on it in a very long time) that was surrounded by rolling fields. There were no buildings for miles around and, from the looks of things, no people either.

“Now what?” I snapped at Sunny, angry that she had taken me to this desolate place.

“Now we wait.”

Suddenly, I was furious. I was tired from waking up early, I was angry about what the boys had said to me at work and most importantly I was angry that Sunny had seemingly tricked me. I kicked the car’s tire, hard. It hurt.

“Fuck!” I yelled, grabbing my foot. Sunny hesitated, then took a step towards me. “No, don’t, okay? Just don’t,” I barked.

She stayed where she was, perfectly still. “What’s wrong?” she whispered.

“My goddamn foot is—”

“Don’t pretend you misunderstood, Alexander. Tell me what I did that was so wrong.”

I looked up from my foot and my anger melted away when I saw the way she was looking at me. Her eyes were wide and her lip, which she was trying to keep still, was trembling. Her arms were crossed over her stomach, as if she was trying to protect herself.

She looked like a mountain that could crumble at the slightest wind.

“Sunny, I— I’m sorry, I don’t know what got into me.” I couldn’t look away from her; she looked like she was ready to fall into a million pieces.

“I can walk home if you want me to, you don’t have to drive me back.” Her voice was wavering.

“No, I want to know why I’m here. Why did you wake me up this early?”

She looked at her shoes and pulled her hair over her shoulder, covering her scar and making her tattoo more prominent. “For that,” she said, nodding her head in the direction behind me.

I turned around and sucked in my breath.

I hadn’t noticed that along the drive, everything surrounding me was getting lighter as my mood had been getting darker. The sun had just began to peak over the tops of the fields in the distance. It was a brilliant shade of red and it kissed the clouds dotted around the sky in pink. A blanket of warmth had engulfed us while I was trying to start a fight and I hadn’t even noticed.

Do you remember as a child the first rainbow you ever saw? How you couldn’t possibly explain the way the colours formed and blended together to create something seamlessly beautiful? That’s what I felt like standing there. It was like seeing the sun for the first time, even though I’d seen sunrises on a million other days. This one was different for so many reasons.

The entire sky was ablaze and suddenly I could feel myself trapped in its fire.

I stared at the sun for several moments until my eyes started to water from the its brilliance.

“Me too,” Sunny said from beside me. Her own eyes were melting green pools.

I rubbed my eyes with the back of my hand. “The sun just got in them,” I explained, honestly.

She looked at me and smiled as a tear made its way toward her chin. “Me too,” she repeated.

One thought on “Sneak Peak at my Novel #2”

Leave a Reply

