Decidedly Not Being in Love

My lips will steal your sentences
But I will not steal your heart.
Ask nothing more from me; I crave
Sweet simplicity and broken promises
Strung together like a chain,
Like a rope,
Linking us together
And tearing us apart
Simultaneously.

I will love you like I love the moon:
Absently, because I forget
The power your presence really has,
Pulling my heartstrings along
with every passing tide.
Ask nothing more of me; I refuse
To love you like I love the sun:
My everything
Is not worthy.

I will give you beating pulses
And dying whispers
And glowing Sunday mornings spent on white linen.
I will give hellos and goodbyes
And everything in between
Because your hope is strung together like a chain,
Like a rope,
And we’re playing tug o’ war
With our hearts.

I can promise you this:
I will not be here always.
When the leaves change,
When the snow melts,
When the birds return
And when the days stretch ahead of you like a road map
Leading to infinity,
I will not be here.
It is the only promise I can keep.

Don’t fall in love with me
Because I only steal sentences,
Not hearts.

Leave a Reply

