Underrated Christmas Movies to Watch This Year

Another Buzzfeed-style blog post? Oh brother.

Yes, yes, I’m doing another list, but because it’s actually important this time. The amount of people who are watching only mainstream Christmas movies needs to end. Don’t get me wrong, I love The Santa Clause as much as the next person, but this year I just wanted to shed some light onto vastly under-appreciated Christmas films that need to be recognized.

1. Jack Frost
Not the one where the guy turns into a snowman. That one was okay, but it always creeped me out a bit to be honest. I’m talking about the Rudolph-styled stop-motion film made decades ago. It’s told from the perspective of the groundhog used on Groundhog Day and it’s basically the story of Jack Frost and how he asked to be turned into a human for the girl he loved. Very good but very, very sad.

2. The Year Without a Santa Claus
“I’ll have a bluuueee Christmas without youuuu” is probably one of my favourite Christmas songs, and if that doesn’t immediately grab you then maybe the Miser Brothers’ song will. Another stop-motion film from a million years ago about how Santa becomes fed up with the greed and corruption in the world, so he decides to skip Christmas and Mrs. Claus has to save Christmas by getting it to snow in the south.

3. Legend of the Guardians
I thought this movie would be incredibly cheesy, so I put off watching it until late last year. Wow, I was wrong. Okay, it is a bit cheesy but it’s also unbelievably touching. Also, Hugh Jackman plays the Easter bunny. ‘Nuff said.

4. Heidi
Many people won’t consider this a “Christmas movie” and I guess they’re right, the story does not revolve around Christmas. But I grew up watching this movie at Christmas, and the Christmas scenes are without a doubt the best scenes in the film. Shirley Temple plays Heidi, so what more could you want really?

5. Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmas
I haven’t seen the sequel, but me and my brother used to watch this movie on repeat (I’m not joking, literally we would watch it all day long) every year at Christmas. It’s a really good kids movie, and it’s great for those of you wanting to experience some good old fashion Disney nostalgia. The premise is that Mickey and co. are trying to give Donald some Christmas spirit by showing him a series of clips from Disney shorts going back to the sixties. Also, Mickey’s A Christmas Carol is a part of the movie as a whole, so it’s like two great Mickey films in one.

6. The Holiday
More of a well-known film than the others on this list, I know. This is the only movie on the face of the earth that could pair two brilliant actors – Kate Winslet and Jude Law – with two cheesy actors – Cameron Diaz and Jack Black – and totally make it work. Basically, a woman in England going through a heartbreak and a woman in America going through a breakup decide to switch homes with each other for Christmas and awesome stuff happens. Bonus: Jack Black in a serious role for once and he isn’t half bad.

7. How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Sorry Jim Carrey, not your version. I’m talking about the cartoon complete with original Dr. Seuss drawings and everything. That movie still makes me giggle like a child. . . probably because I will forever love all the scenes of the Grinch stealing all the Christmas decorations. And I also really want one of those super long tables at the end of the movie. And who can forget the roast beast?

8. Robbie the Reindeer
Premise: Robbie is Rudolph’s son and he has huge shoes to fill. It’s really funny from what I can remember of it, and I highly recommend you check it out if you haven’t already. It’s a good continuation of the classic Rudolph story, and it’s only a little bit cheesy.

9. Ebbie
Forever my all-time favourite Christmas movie. No one, and I mean NO ONE, has heard of it unfortunately. It was a made for TV movie that aired in the nineties and I happened across it one year when it played on the TV at my grandma’s house. It’s basically the story of A Christmas Carol with the gender roles swapped and in modern times. It never fails to make me laugh and cry and want to be a better person. It’s a good movie for everyone: kids, adults, lonely souls, everyone.

10. Miracle on 34th Street
The 1994 version for sure. It’s a tradition in my family to watch this every year on Christmas Eve. It’s my mum’s all-time favourite Christmas film, which is why I saved it for last. Most of you have probably seen this movie and forgotten how good it is (probably because films like ‘Elf’ have made you forget). For those of you who don’t know the story, it’s about a little girl, Susan, who doesn’t believe in Santa because her mother (who loves her very much, don’t get me wrong) decided it would be impractical to lie to her daughter. When Susan’s mom actually hires the real Santa to work at the department store she runs, her and her daughter’s belief is completely changed. (Also there’s a big court case and some cute scenes with real reindeer). This movie makes me believe in Santa, not gonna lie.

Watch all of these films and tell me how right I am.

Leave a Reply

