Why Relationships Suck (For Some People)

Before you say anything, if you’re in a relationship then THIS IS NOT SOMETHING YOU SHOULD READ. Go off and be happy with your SO (significant other) and pretend this article doesn’t exist. No seriously please don’t read this.

If you’re single, like me, by all means please continue!

Now keep in mind that I’m only nineteen years old. Most of the people reading this will probably be in the same age group as I am, so this little rant will be directed at people in their late teens and early twenties.

Alright. That all being said…

High school’s over and with that, the need to date has also vanished. No wait, hear me out. In high school, it was nearly impossible for us to figure out what we wanted in a relationship, so it was important for us to date a few people (or a lot of people) so we could get an idea of what we should be looking for in a partner. By this time, for the most part, we should have a clearer picture of what we want from life (not just in a boyfriend/ girlfriend but our goals and dreams and life plan also). If you don’t have a clear picture of what you want at this point, that’s okay, you’re still young! Date whoever the hell you want to until you figure it all out. And who knows, you might fall madly in love with your soulmate in the process.

Now that we’ve moved past that “experimental dating” stage, what’s next? Ahh yes, the “serious relationship” stage. I’ve been in some of these and while they’re great while they last (and it was great, I’ve dated some amazing and wonderful guys, and I’m really sorry things didn’t work out) these relationships generally lead to two places: marriage or disaster where one person is very badly hurt. Thank goodness mine have ended on a good note.

I’m sorry but the thought of marriage or heartbreak being my two choices terrifies me to no end. To my friends who are happily married or engaged, kudos to you for being mature enough to handle that commitment, I really envy you guys. But I hate the thought of putting either my heart or the rest of my life on the line for the sake of a boy AT THIS STAGE IN MY LIFE.

I really do think it’s important for people like me to just have fun. Since when did dating have to be exclusive anyways? Don’t you miss the good old days (the ones I wasn’t even alive for) when a girl or boy could date multiple people at one time without it being a big deal? I don’t mean that it’s okay to go around and “cheat” on people who don’t understand that the two of you aren’t an item. I mean that it’s okay to say from the get-go: “Hey, I don’t want anything serious. I want to see other people.”

What’s wrong with that?

Relationships don’t suck universally by any means. But for some people, they really do suck.

You shouldn’t have to feel the need or pressure by anyone to settle yourself into a relationship at this stage – or any stage – in your life. It’s okay to be single and want to mingle.

Now of course sometimes people fall insanely in love at a young age. Go for it; if you’re happy then that’s all that matters. But to me right now, love isn’t something I’m looking for. It’s something that would be a serendipitous thing to happen, but I’m waiting for it to find me. I refuse to go searching for something I don’t even want right now.

It’s important for us to remember that just because society says it’s not okay to be single doesn’t mean you have to listen.

I like a good love song or book or movie as much as the next person, but I think people are age are more in love with the idea of love than the actual person. This isn’t everyone by any means, but I still think it’s best for certain people to just relax and go slow right now.

Or maybe this is just me ranting because I don’t want to date anyone for a while? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

