The Purpose of Life

“And now I know in part” is one of my favourite quotes and was adapted from a Biblical verse. I don’t spend a lot of time (or any time at all) reading the Bible, but I love this quote because it essentially means that you can study one thing for the entirety of your life and you will never understand it 100%.

Now, I’m not going to pretend to be an expert on the meaning of life considering I’ve only been alive nineteen years, but someone told me something last night that deeply resinated with me:

The purpose of life is to live.

Yeah guys, maybe it really IS just. That. Simple.

To be alive is to experience – to discover and uncover, to revel and reveal, to take impacts and to make them.

Allen Watts, a British philosopher, used to be asked by graduating students, “What do I do now?” and his response was perfect: Do what you would do if money were no object because, when you think about it, would you rather be rich and detesting the life you live or would you rather be happy?

Let’s think about this: If you have a well-paying job that you hate, you’re going to spend hours of your life commuting to and from your job in a car you only use to get to your job that helps to pay off your car bills and then you spend all day away from the house you bought so you can pay that off too. Does that make any sense? Maybe not but I’m hungover so I don’t care.

So do what you love to do while you can still do it. You won’t be able to go mountain climbing when you’re eighty-three, so do it now and make the most out of it.

To me, travelling is the most beautiful thing in the world. I could spend each day of my life waking up in a new place and I would love it; I never want to just live in one place, I would feel trapped. That’s why I ideally want to work with a volunteer organization that travels the world and teaches kids or looks after animals or whatever. I don’t care how much I would get paid because my life experiences would be rich.

So what’s the purpose of life? To live, to experience and to appreciate. You aren’t going to be alive forever (unless you believe in reincarnation in which case, cool) so you need to understand that in this life, you need only to live and to do it your own way.

I could go on and rant some more about how much I hate capitalist society and the ideologies it tries to reinforce in us, but I think I’ve made my point.

I’m going to go nurse my hangover now.

Leave a Reply

